The Renaissance Sight-Singing Series (SATB)

Using the rules and conventions of 16th century counterpoint, the composer has reproduced the sound and flavor of Renaissance polyphony in this elegant series of graded compositions. Beginning with simple, stepwise motion, as each composition progresses, the independent voice parts produce a kaleidoscope of ever-changing modal and tonal harmonies, so characteristic of the period. Melodic imitation between the voices develops the students’ listening skills, as well as their appreciation for the music of this period. Since the compositions are mostly polyphonic, every voice part is melodic and of equal interest and importance in the creation of beautifully interweaving textures.
Reproducible PDFs      $40 / Volume      $190 / Five volume set
Volume 1 Volume 2 Volume 3 Volume 4 Volume 5
Stepwise motion adds 3rds adds 4ths adds 5ths adds 6ths

Listen to sample (shown below):


Click in music below to download this FREE reproducible to try with your choir.

Email this web page to a friend